Despair and Faith

Posted: May 4, 2016 in Faith
Tags:

sea2331

The world can seem so dark. Wars, the rumor of wars, etc. Genocide. Religious persecution. Economical and political instability. It would be so easy to despair. I feel it, like a weight, pressing me down. And then God reminds me He is still sovereign, still reigning supreme, and still in control, though I don’t see it. 

The song “I heard the bells on Christmas day” based on the poem “Christmas Bells” by poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow always cuts me to the quick. I’m so glad God brought it up on my random playlist today.

Here are the last two stanzas which described my state of mind … and reminded me of God’s:

And in despair I bowed my head;
“There is no peace on earth,” I said;

“For hate is strong,
And mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;

The Wrong shall fail,
The Right prevail,
With peace on earth, good-will to men.”

My favorite attribute of God is His sovereignty. If He were not sovereign, then all His love, and grace could be for naught. Because He is sovereign, I can face tomorrow. I can raise my children and not live in abject fear for them. I might not see, I might not understand, but I can trust His sovereign hand, that He will work all things together (even the nastiest of injustices) for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

“Oh, Lord, keep me in the very center of your will. Increase my faith and trust in you. I believe, help thou my unbelief.”

Leave a Reply

