Making a hard decision

Posted: January 12, 2016 in Faith, Family, Uncategorized

My grandparents health is declining, as is common among humans as we age. They are no longer able to care for themselves by themselves. Little things that most of us take for granted, like getting out of bed and getting dressed, have become insurmountable tasks for my aged loved ones.

My wife and I are in a unique position to help. The job I hold is not location specific, I can go anywhere with high speed internet. My wife has skills and experience in caring for the elderly thanks to her family upbringing. And so, we are looking at moving out to my grandparents area to oversee their care. For any family this is a big decision. For a family of eight, it’s a momental undertaking.

The dilemma is not if we should go, that is a given. The question is how we should go. The logistics of the transition.

Here are some scriptures which leapt out at me during my Bible reading today as I have been praying and mulling over this situation:

“‘…for we are here in a desolate place.’ But he said to them, ‘You give them something to eat.'” Luke 9:12b-13a ESV

“If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it.” Luke 9:23-24 ESV

“Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long in the land that the Lord your God is giving you.” Exodus 20:12 ESV

“We must not put Christ to the test, as some of them did and were destroyed by serpents, nor grumble, as some of them did and were destroyed by the Destroyer.” 1 Corinthians 10:9-10 ESV

One of the things I’m wrestling with is the length of stay. Are we going just until they pass on, or is this relocation permanent (as much as anything on this earth can be)? The second clause in the Exodus passage leapt out at me. It was as if the words were bold faced and highlighted.

“…that your days may be long in the land that the Lord your God is giving you.”

A friend of mine once advised me not to worry too much about the big picture when it’s all blurry, but to simply try to make the next right step. Well, I do know what the next right step is.

At the end of this week, after this business trip, I’m flying up there ahead of the family to oversee things. Once I’m there, I’ll try to figure out what the next, next right step is.

Comments
  1. Rebecca Masnick says:

    Been praying for you all & will continue praying for your moving adventures. God does move us when He sees a need we can fill. Love you guys!

  2. Bob Rooks says:

    Jason I admire you for the great love and concern you have for your precious grandparents, Paul and Abbey Smith. They have been our dear friends for many years. But I am concerned over the thoughts of you disrupting your young family when there may be more satisfactory solutions available, i.e. live in caregiver or assisted living facility. I will be praying that the Lord will give you wisdom. James 1:5 Love to you and your family.

  3. Tanya Owen says:

    We’ve been praying about this for longer than anyone knows…please don’t do anything out of family guilt or obligation…do only as God leads you and your family Jason…we will all love and support your decision

Leave a Reply

