How to send Ctrl + Alt + Del through Remote Desktop

Posted: December 1, 2014 in Technology

ctrl-alt-del

Posting this more for my benefit, but also just to provide one more search result for this issue.

Backstory:
Today while working on one of my Test VMs via Remote Desktop and application stopped responding. No problem…simple solution, hit Ctrl + Alt + Del. The difficulty is that those keys trigger my local machine, not the VM through Remote Desktop. I needed to figure out how to send that command to my VM.

Action:
Google it. Seriously, it only took me thirty second on Google to find the solution.

Solution:
To send the Ctrl + Alt + Del command to another machine via Remote Desktop you use the following key combination:

Ctrl + Alt + End

That’s it. Problem solved. Brought up Task Manager, killed the application and now I can get on with my life.

Leave a Reply

