When and Why Do You Rejoice?

Posted: November 6, 2014 in Faith

notetoself235

Though the fig tree should not blossom,
nor fruit be on the vines,
the produce of the olive fail
and the fields yield no food,
the flock be cut off from the fold
and there be no herd in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord;
I will take joy in the God of my salvation.
— Habakkuk 3:17-18

A note to myself:

Hey self (the psalmists would probably say something poetic like “oh my soul” but we’ll just stick with “hey self”). I have a question. Forgive me if I come across a bit confrontational, but sometimes I think it’s best just to take the proverbial bull by the horns.

Why do you rejoice in the Lord? Or maybe I should ask instead, when do you rejoice in the Lord? I ask because I’m looking over the past and I see a lot of rejoicing when the fig tree is in bloom and fruit is on the vine. And yet at the same time I’ve noticed you have a tendency to also be waiting for the other shoe to drop. I’m trying to be gentle here, but I need to call it like it is. There seems to be an undercurrent of fear even during times of plenty.

I need to ask you another question. What do you really want? This might not make sense to anyone else, but I know you’ll understand. Do you want God himself, or is your desire for the good things he gives? I gotta say, if it’s for the blessings, then you’re settling for too little, setting your sights too low.

Lately you’ve made some amazing strides in rediscovering the amazing love of Christ, and simply basking in and returning that love. Let me encourage you to stay that course. The Psalmist said to delight yourself in the Lord and you will receive the desires of your heart. Jesus said to seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness and all the other things of life will be taken care of. You’ll have what you want because what you want more than anything else is simply God. Then, when there is no fruit on the vines, no food in the field, and no herd in the stalls you will still be able to rejoice because you have God.

So, hold on to that, self. Grab ahold of that because, I gotta tell you, God’s already grabbed ahold of you and he ain’t lettin’ go so you might as well just give in and gravitational pull of the Divine suck you in.

Most sincerely,

Me

Leave a Reply

