To Dream, but Which Dream?

Posted: October 10, 2014 in Church, Faith, Life
Tags: ,

Here are some excerpts from the Switchfoot song “American Dream” which have resonated within me:

When success is equated with excess
When we’re fighting for the Beamer, the Lexus
As the heart and soul breath in the company goals
Where success is equated with excess

I want out of this machine
It doesn’t feel like freedom

This ain’t my American dream
I want to live and die for bigger things
I’m tired of fighting for just me
This ain’t my American dream

As a bi-vocational minister I struggle between working for myself and working to be able to minister. It’s a constant struggle tugging and pulling at my heart and my mind.

Leave a Reply

