Confessions of a Morning Person

Posted: December 9, 2013 in Faith, Life

Whoever blesses his neighbor with a loud voice,
rising early in the morning,
will be counted as cursing.
— Proverbs 27:14

I admit I’m a morning person. Even when I stay up late, I’m up before everyone else in my house. Yes, I’m one of those disgusting people who is generally chipper in the morning. I don’t even need caffeine early in the morning (I start to feel the need about 9-ish or so). The above quoted verse is one I remember first coming across in high school. Perhaps a friend pointed it out to me. I don’t recall that part clearly. The admonition of the passage I do remember. My thoughts ran something like this: “Dude! Tone it down in the morning. You’re a bit loud for this time of day.” The flip-side of my coin is that I have a tendency toward grouchiness in the evenings.

To everything there is a season (turn turn turn). Apparently early morning isn’t the time for exuberant, joyful greeting. Better save that for mid-morning, or early afternoon.

Comments
  1. Ed Hurst says:

    It’s like runners who enjoy attacking long uphills, we thrive on the enthusiasm of taking charge of life. I have coffee in the morning because I like it, not because I need it. I can be playful at 5AM and joyfully annoying in the middle of the night. It’s not in my power to make people happy, so I just enjoy my own, though I agree to restrict my audience as Proverbs suggests.

Leave a Reply

