Some Thoughts on my Bible Reading

Posted: August 2, 2013 in Faith

The following is a selection of verses from my Bible reading today and my meditation upon them.

Psalm 65:3, 4
When iniquities prevail against me,
you atone for our transgressions.
Blessed is the one you choose and bring near,
to dwell in your courts!
We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house,
the holiness of your temple!

My own iniquities, sins, prevail against me. I am daily confronted by my own sinfulness. God alone, through the substitutionary sacrifice of Jesus Christ, atones for my transgressions. I cannot pay my debt. I cannot make up for my treason against the Most Divine. It is all God. Not only is He the only one who can atone for my iniquities, it is He who has chosen me, and brought me near. I did not seek after Him. I was not searching for God. In fact, many times I have sought to go my own way … and always ended up miserable. It is God who has consistently drawn me back to him. When I attempt to go my own way, I become stressed out, tired, dissatisfied, and disillusioned.  When I am near to the heart of God I am at peace, energetic, satisfied, and passionate.

The question I ask myself is: If I know that I am better while in the center of God’s will, why do I constantly seek to pull away?

Psalm 69:5, 6
O God, you know my folly;
the wrongs I have done are not hidden from you.
Let not those who hope in you be put to shame through me,
O Lord God of hosts;
let not those who seek you be brought to dishonor through me,
O God of Israel.

Sometimes we act like God can’t see what we do in secrete. But God does see. Nothing is hidden from him. Knowing how very flawed I am, how very sinful I am, my prayer is that I will not cause other’s to do astray. My greatest fear is doing something to cause others to turn away from God. But I seem to walk the tight-rope.

“Please God, don’t let me lead others astray. Please Lord, don’t let me dishonor your name.”

 

Leave a Reply

