Ramblings of a Feeling Better Person

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Faith, Life

It’s amazing how much better one feels without a three month running sinus infection. I hadn’t really realized how bad I felt till I stopped feeling poorly. And it’s also amazing how much our physical condition effects our emotional condition. The past week and change have been great. I just finished the regimen of antibiotics and my entire attitude is completely different than it was at the start. Actually it changed pretty much the next day when I woke up pain free.

Life with daily headaches was dragging me down physically, emotionally, and spiritually. Without that millstone around my neck I’ve been able to focus, throw myself into my secular employment and really enjoy myself at home and at work. I’ve started accepting preaching engagements again and am booked for two weeks in April already. I’m really looking forward to that.

One of the things that I’ve always struggled with is the tendency of my personal study/devotion/worship time to become simply academic study or another lesson planning session. It becomes less about my relationship with God than my relationship with my future audience. During the last week or so I’ve really been focused on not allowing that to occur. The results have been amazing. The other night as I recounted to my wife what I’ve been reading and meditating on, tears of joy and gratitude came to my eyes as I again considered the amazingness of Grace and having been called and chosen by God despite my wretchedness.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound… Have you ever really meditated on the words to that hymn?

Comments
  1. Real devotional time and private worship really is a struggle for pastors. It is hard to open scripture and just let it speak to us without allowing the studying and preparation mode to kick in. I’m so glad you are feeling better! You are a blessing to many!

Leave a Reply

