Too Far, Too Fast

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Church, Life

Once I rose above the noise and confusion
Just to get a glimpse beyond the illusion
I was soaring ever higher, but I flew too high
Though my eyes could see I still was a blind man
Though my mind could think I still was a mad man
— “Carry On Wayward Son” by Kansas

Those lyrics, I think, describe my last two and a half years in vocational church ministry. I was so focused on where I believed the Holy Spirit was leading us that I was blind to certain realities immediately around me. My lead pastor frequently cautioned me that in leadership it’s important not to get so far in advance of the troops that you are mistaken for the enemy.  To continue with the military analogy (and I’m probably going to butcher it), I’m realizing that I am much more suited to the role of scout or recon than regimental soldier.

Comments
  1. Ed Hurst says:

    Most assuredly do I know how that feels. Welcome to enemy territory.

  2. Ben says:

    Jesus was there. Rejected by the Jews. Peter and Paul (Paul especially) were both there when it came to Gentiles and the early church. I think Christianity could do with a few less regimental soldiers and a few more special forces. Maybe a berserker or two… Yeah…

Leave a Reply

