I’m a Sinner

Posted: February 18, 2013 in Church, Faith

sinner

Yeah we walk through the doors, so accusing their eyes
Like they have any right at all to criticize,
Hypocrites. You’re all here for the very same reason…
— Lyrics from Breathe (2am) by Anna Nalick

That’s how many unchurched feel walking into a church service. I know because I’ve asked. I know because they’ve told me. I know because I felt the same way as a pastor. I know because I feel the same way as a visitor.

Posts like these may not win me many friends among the church set, particularly among churches possibly considering my resume. But it’s truth, and we must face it. Years ago a friend of mine was sent to a rehab facility to overcome her alcohol addiction. When she got out she joined Alcoholics Anonymous. She observed in that group she experienced both acceptance and accountability. She observed that in church she felt like she had to hide her problems. In AA she confessed them and received loving accountability and support. She felt that had church been more like AA her alcoholism wouldn’t have been allowed to get so bad.

Where’s the understanding in our churches? Where’s the loving accountability? Where’s the honesty? Why are we all pretending we have it together instead of confessing that we have a sin problem?

Hi, my name’s Jason, and I’m a sinner.

Comments
  1. Ben says:

    Awesome thoughts.

Leave a Reply

