The Poor Orphaned Thumb Drive

Posted: October 23, 2012 in Technology

Times do change. It wasn’t many years ago when I went everywhere with at least one USB thumb drive in my pocket. I usually had several because I was forever losing the blasted things. They’d fall out of my pocket when I pulled my keys out and I wouldn’t realize this till I much later. Occasionally I found the things. If I did, however, they were usually smashed. Now, thanks to cloud services like iCloud, Google Drive, Dropbox, and Evernote (my favorite), the only time I’ve used a thumb drive in two years has been to take a file or two down the hall from my office to the sanctuary A/V computer. It’s the only time when it’s still faster and easier to use the little boogers.

Just this morning I found one in my car. I know it’s mine. I vaguely recognize it. But I have no idea what’s on it. I’ve only had my car a year and a half, so I must have used it sometime in the past eighteen months – but I can’t remember what for.

Leave a Reply

