Sin & Love

Posted: November 20, 2011 in Faith

A couple of thoughts as I continue working out what it means to know nothing but Christ and him crucified and the power of his resurrection (1 Cor 2:2 & Phil 3:10-11).

“Not because of your righteousness or the uprightness of your heart are you going in to possess their land…Know, therefore, that the LORD your God is not giving you this good land to possess because of your righteousness, for you are a stubborn people….You have been rebellious against the LORD from the day that I knew you.  So I lay prostrate before the LORD for these forty days and forty nights, because the LORD had said he would destroy you. And I prayed to the LORD, ‘O Lord GOD, do not destroy your people and your heritage, whom you have redeemed through your greatness…”  (Deuteronomy 9:5a, 6, 24-26a, ESV)

As I was reading Deuteronomy 9, two things occurred to me:

  1. I am as stubborn as the people of Israel.  I have constantly turned by back on God and bowed before gods made of my own hands.  Yet God has been gracious and merciful to me…not because of my righteousness, but because of His.
  2. As a minister, do I have the same love for the flock He has entrusted to me as Moses had for the people of Israel?  Would I bow before God forty days and nights in intercession for these people?

Jesus Christ is the reason and motivation for both.

 

Leave a Reply

