I Believe, Therefore I Cry Out

Posted: October 2, 2011 in Faith

I believed, even when I spoke,
“I am greatly afflicted”;
(Psalm 116:10 ESV)

There are a couple ways to read this, and apply it to our lives.

1) I believed and so I said, “I am greatly afflicted.” Read this way, it is belief that casuses the believer to speak, to cry out to God. Humanity seems to instinctively seek to call out to something greater than itself in times of intense stress. The Christian calls out to God the Father through His Son, Jesus Christ.

2) Even when I said, “I am greatly afflicted,” I still believed. Cryout out in affliction is not a lack of faith. Just because we say, “This sucks and I can’t take it anymore,” doesn’t mean we have ceased to believe. We don’t need to feel guilty for being upset over a life circumstance. Job was upset and even told God so. God did not hold it against him, nor was it considered turning his back on God as Satan had expected Job to do.

Not only is it okay to call out to God when we are suffering, He expects us to. It’s okay to complain to God. It’s okay to rant and cry. We are emotional because God is emotional. He understands — and as this psalmist reminds us, he gives ear to our cry.

Leave a Reply

