Conversation With a Child

Posted: July 21, 2011 in Family

The following is a conversation between myself and my 5-year-old.

A2: “Papa, I’m hungry.”

Me: “I’m sorry.  You asked to be excused from the breakfast table.  You need to wait for snack time now.”

A2: “What?”

Me: “I said, you asked to be excused from the breakfast table.  Now you need to wait for snack time.”

A2: “I’m not talking about that.”

Me: [slightly confused] “What are you talking about?”

A2: “You.”

Me: “Me?” [very confused now]

A2: “Yes.”

Me: “What do you want to talk about?”

A2: [pause] “Um.  I just want a question.”

Me: “Wha?” [confuso-meter has just shot through the roof]

A2 wanders off.

Comments
  1. Ed Hurst says:

    I know you understand what happened (or should) but for the sake of your readers: You answered the question not asked, as to why he wasn’t going to get food at that moment. That doesn’t work well with a 5-year-old. Usually it works best to address only the thing he wanted. It still makes for marvelous humor when we forget such things.

Leave a Reply

