Finding Joy In Your Work

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Faith, Life

Behold, what I have seen to be good and fitting is to eat and drink and find enjoyment in all the toil with which one toils under the sun the few days of his life that God has given him, for this is his lot. (Ecclesiastes 5:18 ESV)

One of the things I struggled with when I was a bi-vocational pastor was finding joy in the secular work I was doing. Few jobs I had brought me that joy. Those that did, God removed so that they wouldn’t become my source of joy and that my confidence and security would not be based on them.

During those times when I struggled with whatever day job I had, I frequently read this passage and others similar to it hoping to discover how to find joy in doing something just to make money so I could do what I really loved (i.e. ministry).  I confess I never did find the key.

As I mentioned there were a couple of jobs which I truly did enjoy.  The problem was that over time my thoughts turned more and more toward those occupations as vocations and less and less to ministry.  God removed me from those jobs.

Leave a Reply

