Maggie’s Birthday

Posted: January 4, 2011 in Family

My daughter turned ten yesterday.  It seems at the same time like yesterday and a million years ago.  I look back at old video clips and pictures and am amazed at what God has grown in only a decade.

She had a good day.  I took the afternoon off.  She challenged me to another game of Monopoly.  I won this time (no I didn’t let her win just because it was her birthday).  I was thinking though that we need to get some more games.  She’s too old for most of our kids games like Candy Land etc.  She did get a pretty cool looking lego game for her birthday and there’s a new game store in Kearney (about a half-hour up the road).

She chose chinese food for her “bossy day” dinner.  Jenn did a good job and it was delicious.  She also asked for a chocolate bunt cake.  Amie’s observation: “Maggie’s cake looks like a biiiiiig chocolate donut!”

After dinner, cake and present Jenn took the older two girls and one of Maggie’s friends out to the movies.

They got back really late.  Turns out on their way home they spotted a U-Haul being unloaded at 9-o-clock at night.  We have a soft spot for folk moving so Jenn pulled over and she and girls offered their help.  Turns out it was the new Pastor of the Episcopal church.

When they got home it was time (past time) for Maggie and Abbie to brush teeth and tuck in for bead.

Oh yes, I almost forgot.  Maggie wishes to be called “Margaret” now.  I don’t think I’ll ever get used to that.

Comments
  1. bookgirl says:

    Margaret, huh? 🙂

    You’re probably more up on this than I am, but a couple of games I keep coming across that have really gotten accolades for about Maggie’s age group (but supposedly also fun for everyone): “Settlers of Catan” and “Ticket to Ride”.

    Sara K. turned 10 this last year, too, of course. It’s been a crazy decade. It somehow seems longer than that to me.

  2. I’ve not heard of “Ticket to Ride.” That’s a new one on me. “Setters” I’ve heard good things about. In March there’s a game con in Kearney which I’m planning to attend. Settlers is one of the games which will be featured, so I’m looking forward to that.

    I did get her first Magic the Gathering deck. We’re going to play this afternoon while the littles are asleep. She also really likes Basic D&D, so I’m going to assemble her very own binder with character sheets, dice etc. That will take a bit. Need to make a run up to the game store.

Leave a Reply

