The End?

Posted: September 20, 2010 in Faith

One of my greatest theological weaknesses is Eschatology (the end times, the final destiny of the soul, etc.).  I think I’m with most evangelicals in this, understanding in some vague sense that after we die we go to heaven to be with God.  We talk about streets of gold and crystal lakes etc., but have really little understanding of what truly happens after we depart this earth.

I’ve begun studying this area of theology and have come to the conclusion that heaven is not the end destination.  It seems to me to be more of a holding area until earthly time is finished and God has destroyed what is and created a new heaven and earth.  Believers now, will eventually populate the new earth… I think.   Basically, it seems that God’s desire is to remake what he made to begin with, only this time without the possibility of the sin equation entering in.

I’m still at the early stages of this inquiry, so I might be off base.  I’m merely sharing what I’ve seen so far.

Comments
  1. bookgirl71 says:

    I think anyone who doesn’t believe their eschatology is weak (i.e. someone who thinks they know exactly how it will all turn out) is someone of whom to be wary.

  2. R. S. Harrell says:

    Hey Jason…The whole panoramic work of God through Christ culminates in that New Creation…Everything that went wrong in Genesis 3-11 is made right by the end of Revelation…When everything will be brought back to a state of absolute perfection and harmony with God. Paul speaks of this in 1 Cor. 15:22-28. So He will hand back to God the Father a Perfect Creation with no hint or stain of the curse upon it. You are right, Heaven will be on a new earth for eternity to come.
    Blessings
    Scott — the brand spanking new pastor of Calvary Baptist Church.

  3. Wendy: I’m not trying to create a road map of the end times with dates. That is foolishness. Just gain a better understanding of the End Game.

    Scott: It was something John Piper said in one of his sermons that got me thinking along these lines and prompted me to begin developing a better understanding of this area of theology. I must say I’m excited to see so many of the things I love about this world as God intended both them and me to be. The idea of a new perfected bodies is also a great joy and promise I’ve come to love.

  4. I’d agree with you, Jason. I think that seems to make better sense of Revelation’s invoking of the Eden-like restoration.

  5. Ed Hurst says:

    On the one hand, I consider it a major mistake to develop too much detail in eschatology. On the other hand, you are entirely correct in seeing the end point as full restoration, a New Creation.

Leave a Reply

