Contact!

Posted: December 16, 2009 in Life, Manliness

Shortly after I joined the Art of Manliness social network there was a post on reviving the art of letter writing and then another on stationery. I have been notorious for my lack of communication in general, but particularly in the area of mail correspondence. Nevertheless, the posts struck a chord within me. Shortly after that I finished a letter that had been sitting in my Bible for some months and mailed it. I resolved to communicate better in general and write more in particular. The issue of stationery bugged me still though. Not because I disagreed, but because I lacked both the funds and opportunity to get any decent stationery (living as I do in a very remote, economically depressed area).

Where there is a will, there is a way. I think I remember hearing that somewhere. I decided the other day to stop moping or giving excuses and to create my own. It really wasn’t that difficult. I used some smoke grey colored paper I had on hand for some purpose long forgotten and Apple’s “Pages” application from the iWork suite. I created several half page sized social sheets and even self made some matching envelopes. They turned out pretty decent. I penned a long overdue “thank you” card and popped it in the mail that afternoon.

The next day the recipient popped by and thanked me for the card (our area is so tiny we have same day delivery in town).

It’s a great feeling to have expressed my appreciation for someone else’s help and to have done so using something I created myself.

Comments
  1. caedmon says:

    I may have to try that. I enjoy writing letters, but when a page of 8×11 college-ruled is staring up at me, I feel the need to fill it. Most notes don’t need to be that long. I buy cards now and then, but cards worth sending get expensive.

  2. I feel the same way about feeling the need to fill a sheet of paper. And I can’t afford to keep buying cards. I can afford a ream of good paper, however, and create my own stationery.

Leave a Reply

