Peter on the Water

Posted: July 17, 2009 in Faith

Matthew 14:28-31

The disciples se Jesus walking on the water and freak out.  Jesus identifies himself.  Peter calls out, “Lord if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.”  Jesus, of course, does so.  “So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus” (v.29).

It seems like every time I read this story something new occurs to me (thank you, Holy Spirit).

Peter actually walked on the water (that’s not the new part).  He walked to Jesus – not toward Jesus, to Jesus.  He accomplished his goal.  He arrived at his destination.

(Now here’s the new part)  Peter was with Jesus, next to Jesus, beside Jesus when he saw the wind, became afraid and began to sink.

Peter had reached his Lord, and I can just see him beaming back at the other disciples still in the boat before the wind and waves caught his attention.

I’m struggling through a storm, but through it all I’m maintaining my focus on Christ.  I received daily encouragement and am held up through prayer, study, meditation and Christian brothers & sisters.  Suddenly something else catches my eye.  Perhaps it’s a personal tragedy, or merely the daily cares (bank account, job stress, children, etc.) or even my own evil nature tempting me when I least expect it.  Something catches my eye and I begin to sink.  A wave of despondency, depression, a sense of being overwhelmed washes over me.

Peter cried out, “Lord save me.”  Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him…” (vv.30b-31a).

When we begin to sink, at the first sign of trouble we must cry out, “Lord save me.”  He will reach out and take hold of us.

Leave a Reply

